Manning Lectures

The Clifford and Maxine Manning Annual Speaker Series brings a distinguished speaker in religion to Iowa Wesleyan University each year. The series is made possible through a generous endowment by the Rev. Dr. Clifford Manning and Maxine Manning. Rev. Manning was born in Agency, Iowa and graduated from Iowa Wesleyan in 1939. He was ordained as a United Methodist minister, served as a missionary to India, and was a generous philanthropist. The purpose of the Annual Speaker Series is to strengthen the relationship between the university and the United Methodist Church and between the university and the community. The series has brought a distinguished speaker to the university each year beginning in 2004. The lectures are free and open to the public.


Previous Speakers:

2004  Martin Marty 2005  Tony Campolo
 2006  Osagyefo Uhuru Sekou  2007  Amy-Jill Levine
 2008  Mike Slaughter  2009  Harry Moody
 2010  Eboo Patel  2011  Jan Richardson
 2012  Joy Carroll  2013  AJ Jacobs
 2014  Renita Weems  2015  Shane Claiborne
 2016  Diana Butler Bass  2017  Ted Lyddon Hatten
 2018  Father Robert “Bud” Grant














Contact Us

Joy Lapp
601 N. Main St.
Mount Pleasant, IA, 52641