Child Abuse Policy

The purpose of this policy is to encourage, and in some instances require, the reporting of suspected child abuse to appropriate authorities.

Iowa Wesleyan University seeks at all times to protect the welfare of minors on its campus. This includes minors who are on the Iowa Wesleyan campus or participating in off-campus Iowa Wesleyan sponsored programs. This policy is intended to be interpreted broadly, and any uncertainty about whether to report a potential violation or potential abuse should be resolved in favor of making a report.

Who Must Report Child Abuse

The Iowa Wesleyan Child Abuse Policy requires any employee who, in the scope of their employment responsibilities, examines, teaches, attends, counsels, or treats a child, to report suspected physical or sexual abuse of a child to the appropriate authorities. A report should be made to both the Human Resources Office at Iowa Wesleyan University and to law enforcement within 24 hours. The report must also be sent to the President of the University.

All University employees, including but not limited to, faculty, staff, coaches, student employees, and administrators are required to report any suspected abuse. If you are not sure whether you are required to report, this policy encourages you to err on the side of caution and report the suspected abuse. You do not need to have proof that the abuse has occurred in order to report.

All reporters must report child abuse when they see, know about, or reasonably suspect the abuse of a child. A report should be made within 24 hours after becoming aware of the suspected abuse. This includes reporting any type of abuse of a child, including physical or sexual abuse. For the purposes of this policy, the following definitions apply:

  • “Child” means any person under the age of 18 years.
  • “Physical Abuse” means non-accidental acts or admissions that cause, or fail to prevent, physical injury to a child.
  • “Sexual Abuse” means the commission of a sexual offense according to Iowa law, including rape, sexual assault, molestation, incest, indecent exposure, or exploitation of a child in a manner in which the child is used for gratification or sexual enjoyment of another person.

Procedures for Reporting Child Abuse

In the event of an emergency, first call 9-1-1.

Suspected abuse must be reported to both: (1) the Human Resources Office at the University, phone number 319-385-6209; and (2) the Mt. Pleasant Police Department, phone number 319-385-1450.

When making a report of child abuse under this policy, the reporter shall provide the following information to the best of their knowledge:

  • The name of the alleged victim;
  • The name of the alleged perpetrator;
  • Time and date of the incidents being reported;
  • Location where the incidents occurred; and
  • Any additional information known about the abuse.

Mandatory Reporters

It is possible that some reporters, as well as others who interact with minors, who are on the Iowa Wesleyan campus or participating in off-campus Iowa Wesleyan sponsored programs, may be Mandatory Reporters of child abuse under Iowa Code § 232.69. These individuals have additional responsibilities to report all forms of child abuse as described in Iowa Code § 232.68(2). Pursuant to § 232.69, Mandatory Reporters must report suspected abuse to the Department of Human Services. Child abuse should be reported to the Department of Human Services by calling the toll free child abuse reporting hotline 24 hours/day, 1-800-362-2178.

Iowa Wesleyan encourages everybody, including those who are not Mandatory Reporters under Iowa Code § 232.69, to report all forms of child abuse to the Department of Human Services in addition to reporting to the University President and the Mt. Pleasant Police Department under this policy.

Prohibition on Retaliation

Consistent with Iowa law, Iowa Wesleyan will take no retaliatory action against any employee who makes a good faith report of child abuse pursuant to this policy.